Announcing the Greenbean Novel Fair 2016 finalists

Greenbean Novel Fair Irish Writers Centre Irish Writers Centre Novel Fair novel competition Novel Fair

Announcing the Greenbean Novel Fair 2016 finalists –

as selected by judges Anthony Glavin, Martina Devlin & Margaret Hayes

Twelve aspiring novelists have been selected from almost 275 applicants to participate in the Greenbean Novel Fair 2016, an annual Irish Writers Centre initiative which will take place on Saturday 20 February.

Now in its fifth year, the event aims to introduce up-and-coming writers to top publishers and literary agents, giving novelists the opportunity to bypass the slush pile, pitch their ideas and place their synopsis and sample chapters directly into the hands of publishers and agents.

The judging panel, who have remained anonymous up until today, can now be revealed as writer and editor Anthony Glavin, writer and journalist Martina Devlin and Margaret Hayes, Dublin City Librarian.

Congratulations to this year's winners who have been named as:


Alex Reece Abbott

Breda Joy

James Martyn Joyce

Julianne Knowles

Eoin Lane

Orla McAlinden

Elizabeth McSkeane

E.A. O'Donovan

Lana O'Farrell

Fiona O'Rourke

R.M. Clarke

Mairead Rooney


There is a diverse range of genres across the novels including literary fiction, historical fiction, crime and dystopian fiction. The 2016 finalists will be travelling from every compass direction; including a UK resident and a former winner who will be trying her luck second time round and making her way from Toronto, Canada.  

Ahead of the Fair, the finalists will take part in a Prep Day on Saturday 6 February to hone their skills, practise their pitches and gain expert advice from this year’s judging panel, and former winner Kevin Curran who has just released his second novel Citizens (Liberties Press, 2016) will be offering a winner’s insight.

This is the second year where a longlist of twelve applicants will have their work critiqued, extending the prizes from 12 to 24 winners. The following names will receive individual critiques: 


  • Guy Le Jeune     
  • Jane Cassidy    
  • Majella Cullinane  
  • Seán Farrell    
  • Teresa King       
  • Dawn Lowe       
  • Marie Lynch      
  • Eamon Mag Uidhir    
  • Gillian Nash       
  • Anne O'Leary    
  • Jean O'Sullivan    
  • Cathriona Slammon   


    We would like to thank each and every applicant for entering and we wish all aspiring novelists the very best in continuing their writing. 

    Greenbean Novel Fair



    About the Fair:

    In 2015, Greenbean Coffee Roasters came on board as title sponsors of the Fair, with the Irish Times as media sponsors. The Greenbean Novel Fair presents a unique opportunity to gain face time with some of the most influential people in Irish publishing and has the potential to kick-start a literary career for each year’s winners.

    This year’s Fair will welcome representatives from the Irish and UK publishing industries (Penguin Ireland, Hachette Ireland, Transworld Ireland, New Island, O’Brien Press/Brandon, Liberties Press, The Book Bureau, Poolbeg/Ward River, Tramp Press, Marianne Gunne O’Connor Literary Agency, Jonathan Williams Literary Agency, Lisa Richards Agency, Feldstein Agency) and, for the first time, will invite New York based agent Regal Hoffmann & Associates.  

    Listed below are details of the various publications and success stories to date that have arisen through the Greenbean (formerly Irish Writers Centre) Novel Fair:

    • Janet E. Cameron’s novel Cinnamon Toast and the End of the Worldwas published by Hachette in March 2013.
    • Niamh Boyce’s novel The Herbalistwas published by Penguin Ireland in June 2013 and is on the longlist for IMPAC 2015.
    • Beatsploitation by Kevin Curran was published by Liberties Press in August 2013 and Kevin has just released his second novel Citizens.
    • Alan Timmons’ novel Here In No Placewas released by New Island in September 2013.
    • The Reluctant Cannibal by Ian Flitcroft was published by Legend Press in October 2013.
    • Daniel Seery’s novel A Model Partnerwas published by Liberties Press in spring 2014.
    • Susan Lanigan’s White Feathers was published by Brandon in 2014.
    • Liberties Press published Eggshells by Caitriona Lally in May 2015.  
    • Andrea Carter's novel Whitewater Church was published by Constable & Robinson (Little, Brown Book Group) in September 2015. 
    • Swimming on Dry Land by Helen Blackhurst was published by Seren in November 2015.

    And we are eagerly awaiting more updates from former winners!


    Older Post Newer Post

    • Payeicia Howard on

      Congratulations to all the writers short listed for this award especially Fiona O’Rourke. She is so hard working organised clever and infeed ambitious. Most of all she loves writing passionately.

    Leave a comment

    Please note, comments must be approved before they are published