IWC Yeats Summer School Scholarship 2019

IWC Yeats Summer School Scholarship 2019

In 2019, the Yeats International Summer School will take place in Sligo 25 July - 2 August 2019. Full programme of events can be reviewed here.

Directors Professor Matthew Campbell and Dr Lauren Arrington will present an intriguing programme for the sixtieth Yeats International Summer School, with a range of international speakers. The co-directors will follow in the fine Summer School tradition of offering a unique learning experience through the sharing of ideas and opinions, during both the formal and informal events of the programme.

The Irish Writers Centre has three scholarships worth €650 each to offer writers to the summer school (two for writers from NI and one for a writer from the ROI). Travel and accommodation are not included. 

These scholarships are aimed at emerging writers.

Last year's scholarships went to:

John James Reid
Rosemary Tumilty 
Diarmuid Fitzgerald 


To apply for the ROI scholarship: Open to writers who are ordinarily resident in the Republic of Ireland. This scholarship is supported by the Yeats Society Sligo.

To apply for one of the two NI scholarships: Open to writers who are either of Northern Irish of origin living in the south, or writers who are ordinarily resident in Northern Ireland. These scholarships are supported by ACNI.

How to Apply:

Send the following documents to with the subject line IWC Yeats Summer School Scholarship, indicating which scholarship you are applying for.

  • A cover letter explaining how/why you believe you will benefit from the school
  • A writing sample of 400 words 
  • Letter of recommendation from a tutor (for students, optional)
  • Note: Please compile all relevant documentation into a single attachment in Word or pdf. Incorrect formatting will disqualify.

Application Deadline: Thursday 30 May, 2019 at 5pm

This is an Irish Writers Centre initiative supported by the Yeats Society Sligo and ACNI.