The Stinging Fly and Irish Writers Centre Summer School Dublin

The Stinging Fly Summer School

with Martina Evans (poetry), Thomas Morris & Sean O'Reilly (fiction)

3 Week-long Workshops
Starts: Mon 2 - Fri 6 July 2018
Time: 10.30am – 4.30pm
Duration: 5 Days
Cost: €350/€325 Members (Per workshop)

The inaugural Stinging Fly Summer School will take place at the Irish Writers Centre from Monday 2 July until Friday 6 July 2018.

Intensive week-long workshops in both poetry and fiction, the fiction workshops designed for writers of short stories and/or the novel. Up to twelve writers will be offered a place on each of the three courses based on work they have submitted by the application deadline (Fri 4 May). 

These workshops are aimed at any writer who has reached a stage where they are seriously engaged with a writing project – be that a collection of poems, of stories, or a novel – and believe they will benefit from sharing their work with a group of like-minded and similarly motivated fellow writers. It is an opportunity to confront and resolve problems in the work through close reading and discussion of individual texts.

During the workshops, each writer’s work-in-progress will be up for in-depth discussion twice. All the work will have been shared and read in advance. Also included in the week are sessions on aspects of writing craft by guest speakers, including the editors of The Stinging Fly.

All submissions will be read by the workshop leaders.

(Note: The Stinging Fly will decide on the best format for the two fiction workshops based on what they believe will best suit the needs of the selected participants.)

How to Apply: See for full application details.

Deadline: Friday 5 May

Applicants should expect to be contacted by Friday 18 May, 2018. Participants will be asked to confirm their places asap and will have until Mon 28 May to pay the tuition fee. 

Martina Evans is an award-winning poet and novelist, the author of eleven books of prose and poetry. Burnfort Las Vegas was a finalist for the Poetry Now Award in 2015 and her latest book of poems Now We Can Talk Openly About Men is published by Carcanet in May 2018. 

Thomas Morris’s debut story collection, We Don’t Know What We’re Doing (Faber and Faber) won the 2016 Wales Book of the Year, the Rhys Davies Fiction Trust Award and the Somerset Maugham Prize. He devised and edited Dubliners 100 (Tramp Press) which won the Best Irish-published book at the Irish Book Awards. He has worked withThe Stinging Fly since 2011.

Sean O’Reilly is a novelist and short-story writer. His books include The Swing of Things (2004), Watermark (2005) and Levitation (forthcoming 2017). He teaches at the American College Dublin.

The Stinging Fly Summer School and the Irish Writers Centre

Booking Terms and Conditions >>>