We’re delighted to announce the awardees of our Support Schemes for Northern Ireland Writers, which offer subsidised membership, course bursaries and mentorships for writers from or based in Northern Ireland. In keeping with Goal 2 of our 2022–2026 Strategy, these schemes will enhance opportunities for people across all communities to explore and participate in creative writing.

The awardees of the Membership Support Scheme are as follows:

Professional Members
Felicity McCall, Sue Divin, Deirdre Cartmill, Byddi Lee, Tim Dywer, Shelly Tracey, Therese Kieran, Moyra Donaldson, Pallavi Padma-Uday and Trish Bennett.

Associate Members
Denisa Hasieberova, Hannah Eynon, Eimear Kilcullen, Derek Lockhart, Vikkie Patterson, Robin Kelly, Brigid Smyth, Jill K. Wilson, Hannah Gallagher and Peter Reid.

Our membership scheme connects our community of writers from across the island through a number of member benefits, including access to advice, opportunities, and advocacy.

The awardees of the Course Bursaries are as follows:

Martin Boyle, Glenda Burns, David Jamison, David Crooks, Sara McCarney, Paula O’Toole, Ciarán Corr, Robin Kelly, Dervla O’Brien, Teri Kelly, Peter Reid, Colette Henry, Dermot O’Lynn, Rory James Gibson, Beckie Stew, Hannah Eynon, Derek Lockhart, Vikkie Patterson, Rosemary Doherty, Adam Kerlin, Ev McLoughlin, Bridie Davey, Jennifer Cousins, Laura Bradley, Denisa Hasieberova, Ben Best, Jeananne Craig, Adam Martin, Alison Black and Heather Fleming.

The selected writers will receive a voucher worth €165 towards any IWC course.

The awardees of the Mentorship Support Scheme are as follows:

Aisling Kearney, Alicia McAuley, Andrew Comiskey, Andrew Maguire, Bernie McQuillan, Christopher Linforth, Ciarán Corr, Colette Henry, Damian Kerlin, Denisa Hasieberova, Dervla O’Brien, Emma Quin, Ev McLoughlin, Frank Sewell, Gary McKeever, Glen Wilson, Hannah Gallagher, Jen Herron, Jennifer Cousins, Jess Worsdale, Jill K. Wilson, Jillian McFrederick, John Knowles, Julie Dutkiewicz-McCaw, Julie Ocean, Linda McKenna, Lisa Caldwell, Liz Gallan, Martin Boyle, Natasha Lloyd, Niall McKenna, Odrán Waldron, Pallavi Padma-Uday, Rodrigo Romero Flores, Rosemary Doherty, Rosie Burrows, Seán McNicholl, Tim Dwyer and Yvonne Boyle.

The selected writers will receive a mentorship worth €250 with a writer on our panel of mentors.

This initiative is supported by the National Lottery through the Arts Council of Northern Ireland.