Each month we update our Competitions & Submissions page to ensure that we are connecting our writers with the best upcoming opportunities.

Here are a few we wanted to highlight this May!

  • The Stinging Fly Summer School 

    Deadline: 14th May 2021

    The 2021 summer school will run from Monday June 28th until Friday July 2nd. Tutors include Wendy Erskine, Mia Gallagher, Sean O’Reilly, Roisin Kiberd and Nidhi Zak/Aria Eipe. This year’s summer school will take place online and consists mainly of separate workshops in fiction, non-fiction and poetry.

    With support from the Arts Council and their patrons, they are offering one free place on each of our workshops. These will be awarded to writers who are either unwaged or on low income.

  • Live Cannon 2021 International Poetry Competition

    Deadline: 21st May 2021

    Guest judge for this year is Jennifer Wong. Previous winners include Inua Ellams, Tessa Foley, Kirsten Irving, Jon Stone, Andrew McMillan, Lesley Saunders, Ella Duffy, Paul Terence Carney, Sophie Fenella and Aileen La Tourette. 50 long listed poems will be published in our 2021 anthology. 20 poems will be shortlisted, and one overall winner will win £1000.

  • Red Line Book Festival – Call for Submissions

    Deadline: 28th May 2021

    Got the write idea? Red Line Book Festival is now seeking submissions from writers and poets with ideas for events for the 2021 festival programme which will run from 11-17 October this year. The closing date for submissions is Friday 28 May.

    The objective is to provide a platform for emerging and established talents to share their work with new audiences.

  • The Liminal Review 

    Deadline: 31st May 2021

    The Liminal Review is a literature and arts journal (print) that is looking for the things that are made in the in-between spaces. We want your abstract feelings, your bent encounters, your thoughts on anything. The things that don’t fully fit anywhere else, we want to give them a space. We’re listening and we’re interested.

  • The Moth Short Story Prize

    Deadline: 30th June 2021

    The Moth Short Story Prize is an international prize, open to anyone from anywhere in the world, as long as their story is original and previously unpublished. The winners are chosen by a single judge each year, who reads the stories anonymously. Previous judges include Mike McCormack, Belinda McKeon, Donal Ryan, Kit de Waal, Kevin Barry and Mark Haddon. This year’s judge is Ali Smith.

    The Moth’s own co-founder and director Rebecca O’Connor will be joining us for a session on Submitting to Writing Competitions this Thursday 20th May. Register for free here.

To read more, please follow the link to our website.